Meghalaya and other Northeastern States granted exemption from CUET until 2024 – Here’s what it means”

The Government of India has decided to exempt Meghalaya and other states of the North East from the Common University Entrance Test (CUET).

This decision was made because these places have mountains, remote locations, and insufficient internet access, making it hard to conduct the CUET.

This means that students from central universities in the Northeast can now apply for admission to colleges connected to major universities instead of taking the CUET. This exemption has been extended for another year, covering 2023 to 2024.

The central universities in the Northeast that are part of this Discount included Sikkim University, Rajiv Gandhi University, Manipur University, Assam University, Tezpur University, Nagaland University, Tripura University, Mizoram University, NEHU, HNGBU, Uttarakhand.

The Chief Minister of Meghalaya, Conrad Sangma, also asked for a CUET exemption for students in his state. He sent a letter to Union Minister Dharmendra Pradhan to ask for this.

To help with the problems students are facing because of the CUET, the state government has decided to start a state university. The state cabinet has approved this, and the new university will be called Captain Williamson Sangma State University.
It will offer many degree programs in different areas of study.

The Department of Law has approved this, and work is being done to ensure all the different parts of the university are strong and ready for success.

2 thoughts on “Meghalaya and other Northeastern States granted exemption from CUET until 2024 – Here’s what it means””

  1. I was very pleased to uncover this great site. I need to to thank you for one’s time for this fantastic read!! I definitely appreciated every bit of it and I have you bookmarked to look at new information on your blog.


Leave a Comment